How to Enjoy Enriching Your Vocabulary


pdfmagaz.in

pdfmagaz.in

VOCABULARY BUILDER. Honestly, I didn’t know how to speak in English when I was in grade school. All my friends got high grades in English while I got failing marks. In fact, I was the laughing stock among my friends. Everything about my grammar, spelling and pronunciation was wrong. That went on until high school. In high school, I started reading a lot of Karate books and Lao Tsu’s Tao Te Ching.

But it wasn’t until college that my grammar and vocabulary really improved. Even college professors were intimidated when they checked my essays or heard me do reports in straight English. I was then actually enjoying while enriching my vocabulary and honing my grammar more. It was then I was developing as a professional writer. My dad, a veteran journalist, took note of my improvement but somewhat worried about how I openly attacked the government with my newspaper contributions.

Later, I became news feature writer for an international news agency.

How did this all happen from zero? Simple–I just enjoyed enriching my vocabulary. How? By enjoying Readers Digest. The Word Power page found in Readers Digest helped me a lot with enriching my store of new words and improving my grammar. What I did was to make photo copies of the page so I could bring the copies wherever I went–at the office, school, while riding public vehicles, and at home. I’d read them over and over again and put them to heart. Then I’d use them in sentences during my soliloquy.

Moreover, all the stories in Readers Digest are interesting and add to your knowledge. I enjoyed reading them too and treated them like coffee breaks or recess when I needed to rest my mind for a while from vocabulary. Years of doing that daily improved me a lot, from having practically nothing in my mind to having something definitely useful. Imagine someone who couldn’t write a single sentence in English without errors when he was a kid, now editing and reviewing works of folks who are pursuing their masters and doctorate degrees, aside from writing books.

If you want to tremendously improve on your English, try starting with Readers Digest.

Leave a Reply

