Reading Makes You Look Smarter


blindfiveyearold.com

blindfiveyearold.com

I sometimes face the mirror longer than usual just to study how I look on certain moods–casual, contented, pleased, irked, angry, happy, sad, moody, meditative, etc. I want to check if I look smarter in anyone of them. And often, I check if I look smart regardless of mood. How you naturally project yourself is important, with some improvements and revisions. Often, you’re like a book and your face is both the cover and the table of contents.

By God’s grace, most folks find me respectable and trustworthy. And I observed lately that it has all to do with my love for books. It’s true–reading books can make you smart and look smarter if you know how to make it work. Merely the way I look at people and the way I stare at things lend me an impression of smartness to people. They think I’m that smart. So they often treat me like royalty, even if I’m not rich and often release my sense of humor, taking some things lightly.

The site LifeHacker gave reading books the 10th place in its article, “10 Ways to Make Yourself Look Smarter.” I would give it first place. Reading can sometimes re-form your visage so that you eventually look smarter. Try this experiment. Take note how a book reader looks during his or her unguarded moments compared to those who don’t care a hoot about books. You’d see the difference–a trace of inquisitiveness always remains on their visages that often searches deep into things and people. The look on their faces seem to always say “So?” and they seem bound to get to the bottom of things. You better not lie to them.

The face of veteran readers often search out reasons and meanings in things, including events and people they face. Often, they look for truth and character. If you’re a book lover, notice how you scan books in a bookstore shelf. You squint and eye each word on the spines and covers especially of books with titles that titillate your imagination. On the other hand, you probably frown or raise an eyebrow at a book with a doubtful proposition. But you maintain that squinting inquisitive look. Often, that’s how you also look at people. You study every detail, every movement of a facial muscle movement in consonance with a body gesture.

Then people see how you look and decide you’re smart–then they watch themselves and behave. You’re not one they can simply ignore.

Leave a Reply

