Write the Way You Talk


premium.wpmudev.org

premium.wpmudev.org

WRITING SKILL BUILDER. It’s okay to copy someone else’s writing style if you’re a beginner. I imitated my dad’s style at first before later naturally developing my own. He was a veteran journalist and former editor-in-chief of a prestigious daily in Manila. He told me to keep writing until I develop my own style.

When blogging online became possible, I found it so convenient. In fact, blogging is my favorite–I can be myself and talk in the first, second, or third person. This way, I can write the way I talk. This is the best way to write. You see yourself in your writing and sound yourself when you read your blog articles. The most I hate is when I write for other people–they want you to sound like them, and you can’t do this or do that.

If you want to start writing online, write blogs. Just think and write. Reflect and write. Write the way you talk. Later, go over what you wrote and edit. Get rid of clutter and things that don’t connect. Use simple, one-syllable words as much as possible. Simplify what you can to come out with an easy to read blog article. You don’t need to sound sophisticated. And don’t. Stay away from high-sounding words or terms, unless necessary. I always make technical articles easily read by laymen by cutting out the jargon and get to the basic points when I re-write researches.

You start with writing the way you talk. But you don’t end there. You edit and simplify and make everything smooth so that reading your article would be easy and continuous, without the reader having to stop to wonder what you meant about what you said–or else trying to figure out loose connections. When I have edited and ┬áre-read my article and seen how it sounds like me, then I publish.

I like prodding non-writers to write about their thoughts or ideas by simply writing the way they talk. Blogging is a good start. Then later, when you have mastered your own style, you can start writing your own e-books and sell them. You can start writing diaries and later compile them into an autobiography and sell it online. It may not sell much in your lifetime, but it may when you’re gone and leave your posterity a good legacy and inheritance.

I even recommend formal writing to be re-written into a personal blog and make it more interesting to more people. For instance, if you want to write about a discovery you made about a new nutrition antioxidant, instead of writing a formal paper about it full of science jargon and formalities, just write a blog and do an exciting narration on it that ordinary folks like me would enjoy reading, instead of doing a report like a robot would. More people would be helped if you just write the way you talk.

Leave a Reply

